song o’ the day

July 25, 2006

Jens Lekman – “Black Cab”

Oh no, god damn.
I missed the last tram.
I killed a party again.
God damn, god damn.
I wanna sleep in my bed.
I wanna clean up my head.
Don’t wanna look this dead.
Don’t wanna feel this dread.

I can’t hear this song without thinking about the Magnetic Fields’s “100,000 Fireflies,” which is a song I actually don’t like very much (although the lyrics are lovely.) The plinky sound – what instrument is making that sound? it sounds harpsichordish – they both share is really attractive to my ears though. And Lekman’s low, deadpan voice crooning over the plinky sound is even better.

This has been song of the week, really. When I’m walking across campus to the bus stop after work the usual worries that have been busied away during the day start creeping back into my head. Lately I’ve been playing this song at that time on my headphones, and it keeps the worries – momentarily – at bay.

3 Responses to “song o’ the day”

  1. pinky Says:

    I should send you the black cab/left banke mix (unless I did already) – “black cab” samples heavily from a Left Banke song, and evidently a Belle and Sebastian song. They sound cool right next to each other. Although I don’t know which Belle and Sebastian song.

    (that was grammatical!)


  2. Yeah! You didn’t already, but I’d love to hear it.

    I’d heard about there being a Left Banke sample in there, and I vaguely recall the B&S sample to be from “String Bean Jean” (maybe that’s what the liner notes on Oh You’re So Silent Jens said?) but I just don’t hear it, so I don’t know.


  3. Oh wow, Pinky, it’s the EXACT SAME sound, from that Left Banke song. So cool. And here I’d thought they’d taken the idea for the sound from the Magnetic Fields, but now it’s so obvious where it came from.


Comments are closed.

