song o’ the day

July 27, 2006

Jonathan Richman – “Circle I”

Because there ain’t no potato like natural potato, no.
And there ain’t no tomato like natural tomato, no.
And there ain’t no spinach and there ain’t no corn…

As the years go by, I realize more and more I need to get more Jonathan Richman in my life. And after watching him crawl on the ground and sing in Sproul Plaza, circa 1981 I am further convinced.

(I was boggled the other night while watching that, I know exactly where on Sproul Plaza that is, where the person holding the camera is. As of 2003, when I left town, the place looked exactly, almost creepily the same as it did in this grainy film footage from 1981)

2 Responses to “song o’ the day”

  1. minty Says:

    Wow, what a great video! I love Jonathan Richman and somehow I’ve never ever seen him live.

  2. Karen Says:

    I love Jonathan Richman so much. I admit that I love the early Modern Lovers way more than his later stuff, probably because it’s more about Massachusetts and less about California and I am self-centered that way, but I do love it all. B and I almost used “Girlfriend” as our wedding song, but it seemed weird to use a song about a girlfriend on the day I officially became…more than a girlfriend.


Comments are closed.