Good morning and salutations

August 1, 2006

It is so hot outside, and I feel a little strange complaining about this fact because I know other parts of the country are experiencing extreme heat waves right now, but REALLY! It’s hot! Even the arctic air of the bus ride home yesterday afternoon was little relief, as every time the back door opened to let someone off I felt the hot, panting dog-breath air over my shoulder, like a menacing beast. And the bugs, there are bugs everywhere, hornets at the bus stop, hornets in the ditch in front of my house, fire ants that bite me, mosquitos. Oh yes, this is the week in summer where I think fondly of the autumn to come and how lovely that will be.

My dear friend Meriza came to stay with me this past weekend. I’ve known her for 11 years now, we met when we were in high school, though we went to different high schools. What happened was I met a girl at ASB camp, who had a friend Jon who I had a major crush on, who told me I needed to meet their friend Meriza because she liked Blur. And so I did, and even after all the Blur years are over, she’s still one of my favorite people. We both went to Berkeley and spent a lot of time together. She was in my wedding. She is Tallulah’s godmother.

And I had such a nice weekend with her. We went to Orange County Social Club and met up with Ben B. the night she came in, and we went to wee Emily’s birthday party the next morning (Tallulah and Matilda had so much fun they told me), and we ate BBQ and hushpuppies and Locopops (for me, lavender cream and grapefruit basil), and we went to a very large houseparty at Nick G.’s house with assorted friends and acquaintances on Saturday, and we spent all day Sunday chilling out, and that was probably the best – drinking wine, noshing on cheese, fruit, and bread, playing with the kids, napping. I love how it’s so easy to pick up where we left off months or even years ago when visiting with old friends.

And my now ill-kept livejournal has been updated with a memething this morning.

