song o’ the day

August 1, 2006

Suede – “Trash”

Maybe, maybe it’s the things we say,
The words we’ve heard and the music we play,
Maybe it’s our cheapness,
Or maybe, maybe it’s the times we’ve had,
The lazy days and the crazes and the fads,
Maybe it’s our sweetness

This song is:
1. 1996, my dear computer penpal Paul Cattermole, who lived in England and sent me both CD1 and 2 of this single the week it came out, shortly before I went off to college. I lost touch with Paul, I hope he knows how much I appreciated his friendship, wherever he is out there in the world.
2. Walking down College Ave. with Meriza after staying up all night (when Ian visited and he pretended to be sleeping?) and thinking about what that meant, what that felt like, to be Eurotrash.

And that whole year was such a Suede year. I collected all their singles, I went to see them three times, I sang along with friends lyrics that would never apply to my life. Britpop was a lot of fun.

4 Responses to “song o’ the day”

  1. Rullsenberg Says:

    Awh, I love this track. I heard Brett A doing a live solo version with guitar (just slightly slowed down) on the radio once in the car. It was just so stunning: it reminded me of what a great track it was. I promptly played it about 5 times when I got home again!

    And maybe I only know the name from your blog, but why is the name Paul Cattermole so familiar?

  2. Sunny Says:

    Did you see their free show at Justin Herman Plaza in SF? I think it was in 1997.

  3. robin of rockville Says:

    i saw that show! they cut it short ‘cos brett’s voice was shot. actually, robin, i think you went w/ us to the house party where the band were at after the show the night before, at the band’s SF drug dealer’s house. brett came in nearly passed out on the shoulders of two girls and headed straight for the coke room.

    wow, britpop *was* fun.


  4. I didn’t go that free show, I think I had a class or something, maybe? But yes! I was at the house party! Sean and I were sitting on the stoop out front, and Brett walked by with the women and asked us which way to the party. It was so oogy. He looked awful. And Robin, remember when we were at their hotel, sitting poolside with Simon and Neil (was it them?) – that was the height of weirdness.

    There’s some Paul Cattermole who was in a boy band, which is why it might sound familiar, though it’s not the same Paul as the one I used to know.


Comments are closed.

