highlights from the past 7-8 days

August 20, 2006

– knowing that this crazy scheduling insanity (basically working two full-time jobs) will end SOON.
– walking down the road with Tallulah and realizing that we were both wearing black skirts and black shirts, and laughing when she noticed too. It was not planned, but it was funny. Matching mother-daughter ensembles are not cool (ahem, Laura Ashley, Hanna Andersson), but it made me chuckle.
– fig/chicken/chevre pizza made by Sean, sitting in the kitchen with him, listening to music, drinking beer, being together, relaxed, in love, remembering why we’re still here after all these years together.
– bathing Matilda and listening to her count to ten in English and Spanish and sing songs to me and laughing at her incredible cuteness. And then bathing Tallulah and playing a spelling game with her and feeling so proud of my two lovelies. The mom thing is working out really well right now.
– kite-flying with Tallulah one windy afternoon.
– leaves already falling from the sky.
– driving to Greensboro with Jason to see Of Montreal. The Minders opened the set, they played the one song of theirs that I love “Yeah Yeah Yeah” and ended with a Pink Floyd song that rocked. Of Montreal caused me to jump up and down and shake around in a way I’ve been wanting to do for quite some time. The venue in Greensboro is VERY nice, I was mightily impressed with their bathrooms, even. Plus “Old” Greensboro’s cute! and the drive there is not much farther than going to Raleigh, just in the opposite direction. I see more time spent in Greensboro in my future. In addition to all the great songs Of Montreal played that I loved, they played 2 or 3 new songs (they are in the vein of the dancepoprock of the last album, and quite good), they did a cover of the Gnarls Barkley song I’m still not tired of (and really now, what other band could do such a good, true cover of that song?), and I swear they did a Cars song, but I can’t be sure anymore, come to think of it. Maybe they just sound like the Cars sometimes.
– getting to know Cathleen better. And Amanda. And Karen. And Robb. And all the other amazing people I get to know better as the days go by.
– feeling centered, and assured. I know what I’m doing. I’m strong, capable, honest, hardworking, and things will come to me and I will come to things, and so it goes.
– breakfast with Christy visiting from Seattle.
– band practice. We rock. I’m learning to embrace our exuberance and goofiness. That’s exactly what I need.

I will not write of the Foundry Field Recordings show early in the week. I learned some very interesting things that had nothing to do with the band, but the night ended in ignominy, of an embarassing nature that I shall not report. And I have a lot of mosquito bites this week, after weeks of successfully avoiding the little bloodsuckers.

I bet I left a lot of stuff out. Due to momentary forgetfulness, the public nature of the Internet, and the general G-rated nature of this here blog. : )

2 Responses to “highlights from the past 7-8 days”

  1. pinky Says:

    i’ve been wondering where you were, lately – busy, it seems!

  2. robin of rockville Says:

    i think sean should do a food blog, w/ recipes!


Comments are closed.

