hack hack, cough cough

September 17, 2006

I’ve been pretty lucky to have had such exhilarating, interesting weekends recently, because this past weekend has gone by like in a dream, and I don’t mean that in a good way. I came down with a headcold last Friday, and I have spent the entire weekend in bed or close to bed, sleeping and waking, taking Sudafed, blowing my nose, and staring open-mouthed at the space in front of me. The border between dreaming and perceiving reality was pretty well blurred, and so the weekend tumbled by and I got pretty much nothing accomplished, save for a bit of knitting and reading.

I did attempt to go out for a drink last night for Karen’s birthday. And that was great – I had some momentary lucidity after a long afternoon nap that burned some of the sickness out of me. But then I pushed the limit and went with some friends over to a free show at Local 506, and I really should not have. The smoke inside was unbearable, far more smoke than anyone should be around, much less someone with serious congestion. So I left and walked home slowly, feeling sad and sorry for myself.

And this afternoon I was honestly wondering to myself why I’ve felt so emotionally down this weekend. And then, realizing oh yeah, probably because I’ve been ill. Such an obvious conclusion, but I haven’t really been all there these last two days.

And I feel a lot better now. I’m sitting at home alone, the kids are asleep, I’ve been knitting a scarf for myself (have to beef up my arsenal of knitted goods with my new job having such a cold environment). The tables are turned tonight – Sean’s gone out to see a show with his work friends. And I’m really glad of that, that he’s got work buddies to see shows with now.

I hope this feeling better lasts, that I’ve gotten over the worst of this cold. I’m actually pretty lucky that the brunt of the cold has fallen on a weekend, when I can rest. It almost never happens that way.

