kick out the jams m**********r

October 12, 2006

I read a story in the New York Times this morning about a graduate student at Stanford who years ago made a couple million dollars due to his involvement with PayPal. He’s since gone on to study computer science (I believe), despite the fact that he is one of the founders of YouTube. He doesn’t work at YouTube, he’s just a smart guy with smart ideas. He’s about to make A LOT of money, now that YouTube is being bought. I don’t know why his story made me so angry. I guess because this guy is making so much money pretty much just because he’s a smart guy with smart ideas. And I’m a smart person too. And most people I know are pretty damned smart. And none of us are making millions just because we’re smart. Even with hard work, for a lot of us, our smarts take us nowhere. Here I am worrying about how we’re going to afford Christmas presents this year, and cutting out my afternoon coffee consumption so I can afford to have a social life.

And then I’ve had this nagging feeling of hopelessness today. I don’t know where it’s coming from. I guess some things are going to change again, just when I was getting so used to how it was. One possible change promises to be good. Another doesn’t, at least in the short term. And in some respects I just can’t even articulate what I want anymore.

And that’s how it is, every day brings new changes. Right?

I just saw Doug Martsch from Built To Spill sing Woody Guthrie songs about Sacco & Vanzetti in a record store on my lunch break. That’s the sort of town this is.

6 Responses to “kick out the jams m**********r”

  1. Sunny Says:

    so jealous of the doug martsch thing. yours is exactly the sort of town Ukiah is not.

  2. Sunny Says:

    I should also add that this is the second reference to Sacco and Vanzetti that I have come across today.

  3. Justin Says:

    who cares about a few lousy millions? you have two priceless children.

    smarts help, but luck matters more. and i’d rather not sit around worrying about when i’m going to get lucky. i’d rather be busy and have fun.

  4. csg Says:

    Hmmmm. My dad used to stare at the horizon on sunny days and mutter about the snow that inevitably came days later. How did he know? Does it really matter? We kept canned goods and extra firewood because we knew the snow would come eventually, although having Dad’s prophecy was helpful to plan our snowdays.
    The changes will even out.
    And we are thinking of you, fondly.

  5. owlmother Says:

    sigh – we were all going to get rich in the tech boom

  6. Mo Says:

    As you will someday read in my novel, being rich can really suck. I’d much rather have the riches that mean everything and buy nothing, like a wonderful family, good friends, intelligence, and generosity, all of which you have. No one can take you to court over that!


Comments are closed.

