My teenage years were wasted all on me

October 18, 2006

I almost got hit by a car this morning while crossing in a clearly marked pedestrian crosswalk. The driver had the nerve to honk at me. This happens once every few months. Some day, I fear, I really will get hit by a car.

I made a grape hull pie last night. One of my goals from the summer of 2005 had been to find a local source for cheap scuppernong grapes so that I could get enough grapes to make such a pie without breaking the bank. I failed at that last year, but quite by accident I discovered that one of the grad students at my new place of employment could bring me some from his family’s place somewhere out in the country. So he brought a grocery bag full of them to me on Monday, and last night I made my pie. I followed Jacques Pepin’s brilliantly simple instructions for making pie crust. The crust was so bloody simple, and so beautiful. You know how sometimes when you make something new, it just doesn’t look right even though you are following the instructions? Well, this looked like pie crust at all steps of the process. It made me happy. I then followed all the instructions to make my pie. It was fun. I took pictures. I had a slice of the pie this morning, and….. I’m pretty sure I did it right, that this is how the pie was supposed to turn out, but it’s kind of….interesting. I had been warned it was an acquired taste, grape hull pie. And it’s true. The children didn’t like the pie at all, even though I’d thought they’d be ecstatic I was serving them pie for breakfast. Matilda – o daughter of mine – was very fond of the crust though.

Nevertheless, it was quite an adventure, making a grape hull pie.

I’ve been looking on the Internet for pictures from my 10 year high school reunion which I attended a few weekends ago. I wanted to find one that showed off my hairdo, because I liked the way it turned out. I told my mom I wanted a bouffant, and she came through for me. Anyway, here are a few pictures of me and assorted other people that I found:

me and one of my best friends, Dominic

me and some other people, including Dominic and Tanya

me and some other people including, yes, Dominic

Somehow Dominic and I ended up standing next to each other in all the pictures. I haven’t written about that trip out for my reunion because, well, I haven’t had much time to write anything, but also because it was really very surreal, and the less processing I do of that the better. Not surreal in a bad way. Just, wow, strange.

4 Responses to “My teenage years were wasted all on me”

  1. Sunny Says:

    Ah yes, the surreal-ness of the high school reunion. I definitely felt it at mine 3 years ago. Of course, the fact that none of my close friends attended made things even weirder for me. I think I stayed for a hour or so downing drinks at the bar.

    The pictures are really nice, especially the first one with you and Dominic. You look great and HAPPY!

  2. Mo Says:

    I didn’t go to mine two years ago. I decided I would only go if Ray and Maureen were going to be there and they didn’t come through. I bought the reunion book and there is a sadly low amount of articulate reportage in it. I mean, complete sentences, people! I don’t regret not going. I’m a bad Spartan.

  3. Michelle Says:

    I don’t regret going to mine, even though I made few reconnections and hardly talked to anyone. It quelled my curiosity about my former classmates. I got it out of my system and I doubt I’ll go to any subsequent reunions.

  4. dominic Says:

    Why am I always giving the thumbs up?


Comments are closed.

