no, I don’t want to die just yet

October 19, 2006

Perhaps you can understand my shock when walking home from the bus stop after work last night I was AGAIN almost hit by a car while crossing the road in a clearly marked pedestrian crosswalk and was AGAIN honked at by the driver of the offending car. Twice in one day is a little ridiculous, I think. And then while eating a snack outside International Delights (despite the fact that it is almost totally Lebanese? food you know it’s “international” because there are murals on the wall of the Statue of Liberty, the Eiffel Tower, Stonehenge, the Pyramids in Egypt, and…the head of a Native American) on 9th Street in Durham on the way to a show last night, my friend Jason and I were accosted by a drunk man demanding we buy him food. I get very impatient with people on the street’s spiel, they always have a set spiel, so I was trying to direct him to the point by asking him things like, “And what do you want from us?” which he pointedly ignored, talking only to my male friend. I got the distinct vibe he was one of those people who’s not going to take questions from a female. So I got up and walked back inside and told the owner what was going on. After which the man came inside. I felt a distinct moment of menace, but it soon passed.

So what is it about the day yesterday? I swear I don’t have a death wish, nor do I wish to be harmed.

But the show was great. It was Okkervil River, playing at the Duke Coffeehouse. They’re about the most emo I can handle, but mostly a little bit of rock and a little bit of old country. Good stuff. I love the BYOB venues. :)

And I got to sleep in late-ish this morning due to the schools having a scheduled delayed opening. It was fantastic scheduling. The girls and I had a nice morning together. The soundtrack for the morning was: the Pink Mountaintops “Tourist In Your Town,” Okkervil River “No Key No Plan” and “For Real,” Action Painting! “These Things Happen”, Ladytron “Destroy Everything You Touch,” Desmond Dekker “007 (Shanty Town),” Belle and Sebastian “String Bean Jean,” Of Montreal “Requiem For O.M.M. 2” and “So Begins Our Alabee,” and Islands “Swans (Life After Death). And now it’s Employee Appreciation Day at work, and all the students are away on Fall Break, and dang-nabbit, I am really really really brilliantly happy. It really would be a shame to die just now. I’m going to have to be more careful at crosswalks.

2 Responses to “no, I don’t want to die just yet”

  1. Michelle Says:

    re: nearly getting hit by a car twice in one day
    Man, that would be a slow day for me. I thought it was just bad San Francisco drivers that behaved that way, not the more laid-back N.C.-types. Maybe you’re getting too many emigrants from California over there. ;)

  2. Michelle Says:

    Did you see this? Your band is featured on one of the MP3 blogs I follow! :)
    http://everybodycares.blogspot.com/2006/10/violet-vector-and-lovely-lovelies.html


Comments are closed.

