Robin’s first radio show

November 3, 2006

So I did my first radio show ever last Sunday afternoon. I flubbed it in the beginning and sounded nervous as hell during my talksets, but I think I chose a nice set of songs, and by the end I felt much more confident than I had in the beginning. Stepping out of the radio booth I actually felt like I had enjoyed myself, and now I think I am looking forward to the next time I get to play a radio show. I even got a few phone calls from people telling me they liked my set, which felt so awesome to receive.

The show is called Hell or High Water, and the music played for that hour must be taken from the collection at the Southern Folklife Collection. The collection focuses mainly on Southern vernacular musics, think old-time, zydeco, blues, but there is a small amount of soul and classic R&B, which is what I chose to play. Thought I’d choose something a little familiar to me for my first set. These are the songs that I played:

Otis Redding “These Arms of Mine”
James Phelps “Love Is A Five-Letter Word”
Aretha Franklin “Do Right Woman-Do Right Man”
Eddie Jefferson “I Don’t Want You Anymore”
Sugar Pie DeSanto “Soulful Dress”

Ivory Joe Hunter “Can’t Explain How It Happened”
Ann Peebles “Walk Away”
Jackie Ross “Selfish One”
The Dells “There Is”

The Veltones “Fool In Love”
Bobby Marchan “You Won’t Do Right”
Etta James “Pushover”
Johnny Sayles “I’m Just What She Needs”
Dorothy Williams “Closer To My Baby”
Sam Cooke “Bring It On Home To Me”

Willie Mitchell “Everything Is Gonna Be Alright”
Peggy Scott & Jo Jo Benson “Lover’s Holiday”
Archie Bell & The Drells “Tighten Up”
Luther Ingram “Be Good To Me Baby”

