questions

November 13, 2006

How to talk about one’s self without sounding like a total ass?

How to relate what really made me happy about this and that social event without sounding like a vapid trendster?

How to talk about my day without giving away all my secrets?

How to be self-reflective in a journal while maintaining a “do not think about things too much” policy of action?

4 Responses to “questions”

  1. Karen C. Says:

    Yeah, I don’t know. I just assume that I occasionally (often?) sound like a total ass and write what I feel like writing. I also don’t tell a lot of people about my journal and, in terms of secrets, when I write something secretive, I try and imagine the last possible person I’d want reading my journal…reading my journal. If it’s slightly cringe-y but not unbearable, I keep it in. More often than not, I take it out. I have a written journal for the self-reflective, private stuff anyway. Works for me, may not work for anyone else.

    I don’t think you sound like an ass–ever!

  2. Sunny Says:

    I love reading your journal and you definitely don’t sound like an ass. That said, maybe a little blogging hiatus will help you clear your mind a bit.

  3. Kristina Says:

    a) don’t worry about sounding like an ass because if you’re not an ass, you won’t sound like one. and you are not an ass.

    b) if all you wrote about ever were social events, you might start to sound like a vapid scenester, but if you were actually writing about what really made you happy, you’re not being vapid.

    c) pick and choose topics

    d) i have no clue.

    Of course, I could seem like a vapid scenester ass in my journal and I wouldn’t know it. So I dunno. ;-p


Comments are closed.

