song o’ the day

November 17, 2006

New Order – “Bizarre Love Triangle”

Every time i think of you
I feel shot right through with a bolt of blue.
It’s no problem of mine but it’s a problem I find,
Living a life that I can’t leave behind.
There’s no sense in telling me.
The wisdom of a fool won’t set you free.
But that’s the way that it goes,
And it’s what nobody knows,
While every day my confusion grows.

I only ever got a sense of just how brilliant New Order was until I met Sean. Coming of age in the mid-90s, New Order was just one of those bands I always heard on the radio, and then it was one of those bands that every undergrad had in their CD collection, even if they only had 10 CDs, they had The Best of New Order among them. Like with the Beach Boys, when you hear songs over and over again out there in the cultural mainstream, it can be difficult to really sit down and realize, wow, these people make really incredible music. And they do.

This is of course one of those hits that was always on the radio, and it’s for good reason because goddamn it’s good. New Order really knew how to kick out a beat. It’s a pity their lyrics were often so bad – this is one where they’re actually quite straightforward and good.

2 Responses to “song o’ the day”

  1. owlmother Says:

    That’s so funny to me. New Order was a fringe band when I was listening to them in high school. Even after Substance came out in ’87 when I was in college, everyone didn’t have it.

    I’ve also had to buy it multiple times. Everytime I think I won’t buy it again and then I do.

    Ditto my ever disappearing Pixies.

  2. Sunny Says:

    It is so cool that you and Sean are on the same page concerning New Order. Kumar likes Joy Division, but is not a big fan of New Order. Almost all of my New Order CDs were stolen from our place in Berkeley and I haven’t yet replaced all of them. I know I should…perhaps another viewing of 24 Hour Party People will inspire me to action.


Comments are closed.

