song o’ the day

November 24, 2006

Of Montreal – “The Past is a Grotesque Animal”

but at least I author my own disaster

I’ve downloaded about half of Of Montreal’s yet-to-be-released new album in the past number of days and OH MY GOD. When I heard them play a few of the new songs in Greensboro recently I nodded my head with happiness, knowing the new album would have a lot of that synthy goodness that hooked me into their last two albums. But this, this is incredible. I am far more than impressed, I am amazed at how my head bops back and forth and my shoulders shimmy involuntarily whenever I play these songs. I can’t decide which one is the best, but for now “The Past is a Grotesque Animal” will stand in as my current favorite due to its sheer epicness. It is almost twelve minutes in length, and it keeps going and going and building up and building up to a crescendo that ultimately never comes. When the build-up is so awesome, we don’t need no stinkin’ crescendo.

Said the Gramophone has it up for downloading but if that doesn’t work for you do let me know because otherwise I’d love to pass it your way.

Edit: OK, it’s not there for download (but do click over there anyway…it’s kind of a funny description of the song) so I have it on sendspace here.

2 Responses to “song o’ the day”

  1. Sunny Says:

    Thanks for sharing. I am listening (and liking the song) as I write this. Kumar is a really big fan of this type of song. I suspect it may get played on his radio show this week.


  2. It makes me happy to think of Kumar rocking out to this song!


Comments are closed.

