song o’ the day

November 29, 2006

The Cudgels – “Joybang!”

This song came to me via a mix CD that Roque from the poplist sent to me some months back. I can’t find much on the Internet about the band. This song was released in 1992 as a 7 inch on Sunday Records. To my ear it sounds similar to the sound Lush was making at the time, but with surf guitar. It’s one of my favorite songs right now.

One Response to “song o’ the day”


  1. Hello and Happy New Year,
    I was in The Cudgels and wrote the song ‘Joybang!’. I am glad you like it, we made a few flexidiscs and singles and an album called ‘God’s Children’ on ‘Bring on Bull’ records. Later we split up and I was in a band called Oporto who had a US release on Sunday Records. Recently I made an album with my most recent band The Winnebago Orchestra and this year intend to start a new solo project.

    Your website is cool,
    Best wishes,
    Andy


Comments are closed.

