Mathilda, Mathilda I cry for you

January 19, 2007

(title from lyrics from the song “Mathilda” by Cookie and The Cupcakes)

As part of my job I occasionally do radio shows on WXYC, the local college station. This Sunday I will be playing a show consisting entirely of…..

SWAMP POP!!!

Eh? You say? Wikipedia says Swamp pop is a musical genre indigenous to the Acadiana region of south Louisiana and an adjoining section of southeast Texas. Created in the 1950s and early 1960s by teenaged Cajuns and black Creoles, it combines New Orleans-style rhythm and blues, country and western, and traditional French Louisiana musical influences.

But I think it’s more like rockabilly with a Louisiana flavor.

I had a lot of fun putting this show together, especially messing with the sweet 45s my library has got in our collection and dancing in the studio while digitizing tracks.

So listen, y’all. If you’re in the area, you know how to find WXYC on the dial, and if you’re not in the area, you can stream the show live over the internet from http://www.wxyc.org

I’ll be on this Sunday, from 1-2 pm Eastern time. The show is officially called Hell or High Water. This is my third ever radio show, so I’m still nervous, folks, but this is gonna be a good one, I swear.

