song o’ the day

February 9, 2007

Two songs of the day, one new, one old, both new to me!

Midlake – “Young Bride”

My young bride,
why aren’t you moving at all?
Helps to make the day seem shorter.

I went to see this band play a show in town the other night, at Jason’s urging, and I’m really glad I did. They were very impressive – great songs, great skill, great showmanship. It was a fantastic set. And this was the best song. The chorus just soars is one way to describe it…

the Gerbils – “Crayon Box”

Look what you’ve done. How could you
Go out and watch the show without me?
You know that Portastatic is still my favorite band.

Now I see what I was missing out on in the mid-late 90s, not having any knowledge at all of the Athens, GA music scene. It’s fun playing catch-up, especially for coming across gems like the Gerbils. This is really great fuzzy-guitared, lo-fi, head-bopping pop. Well, and the words in this song crack me up. I’ve felt this way before, but with different band name substituted for Portastatic!

One Response to “song o’ the day”

  1. dominic Says:

    Thanks for writing about Midlake. I checked them out and now that I really like what I’m hearing, I’m going to be forced to see them at the Troubador.

    Call me soon or tell me when to call you.


Comments are closed.

