song o’ the day

February 14, 2007

El Perro del Mar – “I Can’t Talk About It”

Baby, there’s been a lot going on.
Baby, there’s been a lot going on.
I can’t really talk about it.
I can’t really talk about it…

Baby, oh baby. Baby, oh baby.
Lately, I’ve made a life of my own.
Lately, I’ve made a life of my own.
I can’t really talk about it.
I can’t really talk about it…

At times it feels like this album is my life right now, and this song especially so. This song oozes hurt and conflict-avoidance. The song should be sweet, hey it’s got handclaps and girl-group backing vocals, but it’s played off somehow in a way that makes it sound tired and sad, and her voice enhances those feelings.

3 Responses to “song o’ the day”

  1. Rullsenberg Says:

    Yet another eMusic favourite… man, I LOVE eMusic!

  2. Karen C Says:

    I love this album, too. “God Knows (You’ve Got to Give to Get)” has been my theme/nearly too painful to listen to song for a few months now.

  3. layne Says:

    i am so glad you like this too. somehow if i stumble onto the same stuff you are listening to i feel a whole lot hipper and better about myself. plus it’s soooo good.


Comments are closed.

