oleander

December 19, 2008

Heather Graham and Paul Thomas Anderson on the set of Boogie Nights

Heather Graham and Paul Thomas Anderson on the set of Boogie Nights

Last night I found myself watching the movie “Boogie Nights.” I’d seen it shortly after it was released, but I was curious how my older self would react to it (turns out, pretty much the same way my younger self reacted to it).

I’m finding myself haunted somewhat by the scenes set in Jack Horner’s backyard around the pool. And it all comes down to the oleander bushes surrounding the yard, I think. Those scenes filled me with an intense homesickness because that’s EXACTLY what people’s backyards looked like in Southern California, where I grew up. Oleander is quite poisonous, as far as I know, so it’s kind of shocking, its prevalence in suburban subdivisions.

(People did not have pool parties like that when I was a kid, though.)

