Yokoo handknits

January 14, 2009

The Minnie in Hazelnut by Yokoo

The Minnie in Hazelnut by Yokoo

The Pembroke Cowl in Sweet Pea by Yokoo

The Pembroke Cowl in Sweet Pea by Yokoo

This morning I found myself down the Internet rabbit hole, where one click leads to another, leads to another, leads to another, and leads to another. After many clicks I stumbled upon the Etsy storefront for Yokoo.

I can’t pinpoint why I like these photographs so much. The scarves and hats are not to my style. The woman’s personal style is not to my taste, although I do admire the amount of dedication it must take to pull off looking like Woody Allen and Diane Keaton at the same time. Nevertheless, there is something very compelling about her photographs. Apparently they are self-portraits. I’m very impressed with the composition, the lighting, the colors, and the small details that make the photographs work so well. That stack of yarn balls in one picture just kills me.

Also, I have recently determined that Annie Hall just might be my favorite movie. One more point – I’ve taken to wearing my own Very Large Scarf That Could Almost Pass For A Muffler as the temperature in Chapel Hill has become quite cold lately. So maybe I’m just digging on the bulky scarfness and Woody Allen-ness of her photographs.

Yokoo has an Etsy store and a Flickr page. Judging from these photographs, she’s also got a masterful scowl, a talent I always appreciate.

SIGH. And now I realize those are CROCHETED not knitted.

