Albrecht Dürer

February 26, 2009

In my last two years of high school I was on the Academic League team. Our activities included traveling to other local high schools’ libraries and engaging in quiz show-style competitions after school while other kids were out playing sports and stuff in the fresh Southern California sunshine. In my senior year I was the captain of the team.

In one of the matches towards the end of my junior year we traveled to the recently-built high school in the upscale suburb east of town. I became furious and curious midway through the match because a handsome young man on the opposing team buzzed in before I could answer a question. The answer was “Albrecht Dürer.”

He had straight black hair that was short in back and floppy in front. He wore glasses and a Smiths t-shirt. My crush on him was instant.

Oddly enough, although we went to different high schools, Jon and I ended up sort of dating, although we didn’t meet until a few months later. I didn’t know it for what it was at the time, but looking back on it, I realize that’s what it was. We spent time in the summer of 1995 driving around suburban San Diego in his frigidly air-conditioned car and being awkward with each other. He went on vacation to Hong Kong and sent me a series of suggestively-worded postcards. But things quickly fizzled out, probably because we were both inexperienced and didn’t know what we were supposed to do next. We never even kissed.

The 1990s have been on my mind a lot lately.

One Response to “Albrecht Dürer”

  1. Sunny Says:

    I have not thought about Academic League since my HS graduation. I had completely forgotten that I was in it during my senior year. Yay for nerdiness!


Comments are closed.

