That’s the end

March 31, 2009

Today is my last day at this job, and I realize now that I should have come up with something clever to say to my coworkers in response to the pleasant “What are you going to do next” queries I’ve been peppered with all day, something vaguely plausible but utterly ridiculous, something like, “I’m going to New Zealand to pick apples for the next six months.”

Instead I’ve been telling them how I’m hoping to collect unemployment for a bit until I can find a job, and I mention a few of the projects I’m going to tackle, like cleaning the grout in my shower, painting a wall in my living room, building a raised garden bed. The people close in age to me nod their head in understanding. I guess we’re all used to instability in our employment histories. The people more established in their jobs look slightly unsettled. I’m trying to treat this unemployment thing like it’s no big deal, like it’s something I can easily handle and work through because, like Audra used to say, “Fake it till you make it.”

