How to feel like a woman

February 10, 2010

The first Saturday of this year was very cold. A much-loved vintage&junk store in the area was having a massive everything in the store closing sale that morning, so Cathleen, Amanda and I drove out to Chatham County to have a look. It wasn’t just a sale, it was an event. While trying on a fur stole I was accosted by an adorable newspaper reporter who was asking questions and taking photographs. She asked me what the attraction to vintage clothing is for me. I responded that I liked vintage and vintage-inspired clothes (particularly from the first few years of the 1960s) because they make me feel like a woman.

I’d never thought about it that way before that moment. Truly, though, nothing makes me feel more confident, desirable, clever, sophisticated, and feminine than stepping out fully dressed from head to toe. And the best way to top off a vintage-inspired outfit is with a smart coat, and I really, really, really want a coat with a fur collar. Wouldn’t that just be the icing on the cake?

I saw these in an Etsy shop, and I’m just boiling with desire for one (or all) of them:

All coat photos are from Dear Golden Vintage.

5 Responses to “How to feel like a woman”


  1. I am amazed sometimes how little I need to feel like a woman. Some days it is only a red nail polish and other ones a cute pair of shoes. The Etsy coats made me want for one too!!!

  2. gwen Says:

    ohhhhhh that grey one. I’m in love…

  3. robin of rockville Says:

    i’ve been eyeing this one on etsy as it’s not as expensive:

    http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=37091539

  4. gwen Says:

    oh that’s nice. a friend of mine got a similar one this winter.

  5. layne Says:

    Your style always inspires me. I am a lot less daring, but have to admit to thinking to myself ‘what would Robin wear?’ pretty often.


Comments are closed.

