This Name Is Already In Use

July 17, 2011

I believe the English-speaking Internet world has reached the point where it is nearly impossible to register a new blog name.

In the last month I have tried on more than one occasion to start a new blog to be used for a specific purpose. I spent an hour one night typing different combinations of words into a webform at blogspot.com, denied every time. “Sorry, this blog address is not available.”

A few days later and another blogging platform: “This URL is already taken.”

This name is already in use. This name is already in use. This name is already in use.

After weeks of musing, I came up with what I believed to be a clever, unusual play on words that would be descriptive of the project.

This name is already in use. This URL is already taken. Sorry, this blog address is not available.

There are a million people out there coming up with the same clever, unusual plays on words that I am.

One Response to “This Name Is Already In Use”

  1. valeda Says:

    story of my life. same with email addresses! boo!
    xo


Comments are closed.

